Roasted Red Pepper-Tomato Pizza

My Pizza on the BBQ

The calendar says that it is Fall, but the weather says that it is Summer. I had a bunch of beautiful red peppers, so I thought I’d barbecue myself a roasted red pepper pizza tonight. I’d seen Bobby Flay do a pizza like this on the grill. This recipe is his at the core, but changed for how I was feeling tonight.

Roasted Red Pepper-Tomato Pizza with Mozzarella, Goat Cheese and Basil
1 package pizza dough (I use Trader Joe’s fresh pizza dough)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, passed through a press
2 roasted red peppers, peeled, seeded and chopped
2 cups canned plum tomatoes, with juice, pureed
salt and pepper
8 ounces buffalo mozzarella, thinly sliced
4 ounces goat cheese
8-10 basil leaves, rolled together and sliced

Turn BBQ on high. Follow directions for pizza dough.

For Sauce: Heat oil in medium saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook until soft, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add red peppers and tomatoes and cook until thickened, about 5 minutes. Puree in food processor or Vitamix (my favorite!). Taste and season as necessary. Let cool slightly.

To Assemble Pizza: Place dough on pizza stone or cookie sheet. Spoon sauce on dough. Place mozarella and goat cheese on pizza. Sprinkle basil on pizza. (Feel free to add olives or any other goodies you might like. Pizzas are very individual.) Note: I used a stone and it gave a nice crispy crust on the bottom.

Cooking: Place stone or sheet on the BBQ grill. Close the lid and cook until crust is brown and cheese is bubbly, about 15-25 minutes depending upon your Q. Let sit for about five minutes before slicing.

Note: I had enough sauce to make 2 – 3 pizzas, depending upon the size. It freezes great and can certainly help on a busy night in the future.

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Main Dish Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

