The Great Pumpkin

Chocolate chip and pumpkin bread.

I think Fall has finally fallen, it’s cool and crisp outside, the leaves are drifting down, and I want to curl up in front of the fireplace. Since it’s just a week away from Halloween, I thought I’d pull out the pumpkin for something yummy. Now, growing up, I never liked pumpkin, at least I never thought I liked pumpkin. Of course, I was basing this only on Thanksgiving pumpkin pie (one of my dad’s favorites). It wasn’t until I grew up that I started trying pumpkin things — pasta, bread and more. And Yum! I’d been denied all those years. So here’s some chocolate and pumpkin together because almost everything tastes better with chocolate. This quick bread is super easy to make and will make great presents for friends during the holidays. You can even make them ahead and freeze then, saving you time for much needed relaxation during shopping season.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread
3 cups white sugar
1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree
1 cup vegetable oil
2/3 cup water
4 eggs
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 TBS ground cinnamon
1 TBS ground nutmeg
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour three 9″ x 5″ inch loaf pans.

2. In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, oil water and eggs. Beat until smooth. Blend in flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda and salt. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts. Fill pans 1/2 to 3/4 full.

3. Bake for one hour or until an inserted knife comes out clean. Cool on wire racks before removing from pans.

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Breakfast Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

