2011 Garden Chronicle – Post #1

Even though today is still a little blustery, I had outside fever and decided to start on the garden. Last year I made seven portable raised garden containers from a livestock water trough and a mover’s dolly. They are so cool. I can move them around the yard depending upon what is happening with the weather.

Well, I decided it would be fun to chronicle how the garden does this year. I’ll be adding some more veggies, but this is a nice start. I had some big hits and misses last year. My artichoke flowered, but never produced. My lettuce and spinach were amazing. My tomatoes were OK. So here’s my first post, on March 27th, and my first photos of my little tiny plants.

basil and chives

zucchini and artichoke

herbs

tomatoes

arugula

yellow pepper

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 Garden Chronicle – Post #1

  1. Chef Ro says:

    I did drill holes for drainage. I used the “recipe” for soil found in the book “All NEw Square Foot Gardening.” Here it is: 1/3 blended compost, 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 coarse vermiculite. Mix equal parts of each, measured by volume, not by weight. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Jim Seybert says:

    Ro – what type of soil did you use? We did this last year and had a zero crop. I think it was the soil. Also, do you make holes in the tubs to allow drainage?

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

