Happy National TV Dinner Day

The mashed potatoes and butter were the best.

For those of you “of a certain age,” we got to have those classic TV dinners in the metal containers that we could actually eat in front of the TV on our TV trays. It was a special treat for me and my sister when we were little. (Of course, I never let the TV be on during family dinners. I’m so harsh.)

Since today is National TV Dinner Day, I thought I’d throw down a little retro TV dinner info. Swanson was the first company to produce TV dinners. Gerry Thomas, a Swanson salesman, noticed the metal containers Pan Am Airlines used for their food. That, combined with Swanson having tons of left overs from the Thanksgiving rush, led to the first TV dinners. Check out the entire story here on the TLC Blog.

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, National Food Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

