The Best Day Ever! National Chocolate Milkshake Day

I need one now!!!

I’m kind of a freak and I admit I’ve passed my strangeness to my daughters. I love a good chocolate milkshake but I’m very particular about how it is prepared, and my girls are too. It has to be super thick; I’m talking eat with a spoon thick. It can only be made with really good quality vanilla ice cream and tons of chocolate syrup. And it must be free of whipped cream. Once it is made, I have absolutely no self control. I can eat a ginormous glass of it. Oh, gotta go, I need a milkshake now!!!

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, National Food Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Day Ever! National Chocolate Milkshake Day

  1. ishmael hall says:

    whats in the milkshake cause i was going to make it for a desert for thanksgiving with my cousins but it sounds and looks very good send my email ishmaelhall321@gmail.com the recipe and i think its just ice cream and chocolate syrup am i right ????? cause if i am then how do you make a strawberry one ????? that sounds good to 🙂 email me ASAP cause today is Sunday and thanks giving is on thersday and like i said i’m making it for desert on thanksgiving mmmmmm…… bye

    Like

    • Chef Ro says:

      My chocolate milkshakes are very basic, but very good. I think the amount of love I put into them makes a big difference. There’s no recipe. I use really good vanilla or vanilla bean ice cream, chocolate syrup and milk. Then it is all ratios from there. I like mine really chocolatey and really thick. Just experiment. it it is too thick, add more milk and if it is too thin add more ice cream. I use my Vitamix but any blender will do. When I’ve wanted just a small milk shake, I even use an imersion belnder. It makes clean up really easy.

      Now I’m not a fan of strawberry milkshakes, so I don’t make them. But I did find this Emeril recipe that you might want to try. It uses fresh strawberries. I think the shakes are always best when using vanilla as a base and adding your flavor to that. Let me know how it goes. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/fresh-strawberry-milkshakes-recipe/index.html

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

