Serendipity’s Frozen Hot Chocolate

Serendpity 3 Frozen Hot Chocolate

Rich and thick and choc-o-late. I just can’t drink it slow.

When I went to New York City for the first time in 2010, and solicited suggestions of places to visit and things to do, I was told in no uncertain terms that I MUST visit Serendipity in NYC for frozen hot chocolate. What is frozen hot chocolate, you ask (as I did)? Simply put, It is heaven in a gigantic goblet/bowl masquerading as a glass.

I was in NYC that year to celebrate my daughter, Isabella, and her best buddy, Mallory, turning 16 years old. The three of us ordered lunch (not knowing it was BIG food) and a frozen hot chocolate (not knowing it was BIG dessert that is brought before the BIG lunch). Now, I’ve always been a Nestles bunny kind of girl; I can’t drink chocolate milk slowly. The same, it seems, holds true for frozen hot chocolate. I slurped mine down in record time certain of the tummy ache that would come later. Mallory pushed hers aside half way into it, declared that she could drink no more, and offered it to me. I told her “Absolutely not. I can’t take one more sip.” Then I grabbed it and slurped it down in about 3.2 seconds flat.  I guess in my vernacular “Absolutely NOT” means “Absolutely NO control.” Needless to say, when our humungous lunches were delivered, we each took only one bite and then rolled ourselves out of the funky little restaurant.

Upon returning to NYC for my youngest, Maddie’s, 16th birthday celebration, I limited myself to one frozen delight and split a sandwich with Maddie — still stuffed but at least mobile. And whenever anyone asks me what to do in NYC, frozen hot chocolate is usually the first thing I say.

Why this long, involved story, you ask? Well, Isabella came home from college last week for the first time in two months. I made her favorites for dinner, homemade focaccia, spaghetti carbonara, and I figured I’d attempt the frozen hot chocolate. I found the Serendipity recipe online. It really tasted the same. I would’ve put freshly whipped cream and chocolate shavings on it, but it was too late and I was too tired. I’ve had lots of people ask for the recipe, so here it is. One batch makes two regular-size beverage glasses.

Frrrozen Hot Chocolate (from Serendipity 3 restaurant in NYC)

Ingredients
6 pieces (1/2-ounces) chocolate, a variety of your favorites (semi-sweet, milk, etc.)
2 teaspoons store-bought hot chocolate mix
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1 1/2 cups milk (I used whole)
3 cups ice
Whipped cream (Fresh is best. Add a little sifted powdered sugar into it.)
Chocolate shavings

Directions
Chop the chocolate into small pieces. Place in the top of a double boiler over simmering water. Stir occasionally until melted. Add the hot chocolate mix and sugae. Stir until completely melted. Remove from heat and slowly add 1/2 cup of milk until smooth. Cool to room temperature.

In a blender, place the remaining cup of milk, the room-temperature chocolate mixture and the ice. Blend on high speed until smooth and the consistency of a frozen dacquiri. Pour into a giant goblet (if you happen to have one sitting around.) and top with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Serendipity’s Frozen Hot Chocolate

  1. albertocook says:

    I love this recipe I love chocolate

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

