Happy National Homemade Bread Day

bread-sourdough

Bread is my favorite carb.

There are a few smells that help make your house feel like home, hot spiced cider and baking bread are two that make me feel warm and happy all over.

Today is National Homemade Bread Day. Bread really isn’t that hard to make, it just takes time and most of the time is proofing. One of my favorites to make is focaccia. I also make baguettes in a special mold that I got at at Williams Sonoma. I used to have sourdough starter years ago, but let it croak. Just last week I decided to revive my sourdough, got some starter from King Arthur Flour and now have it ready to roll. Tonight is the perfect night to make a baguette to go with dinner. There’s nothing like the tang of good, warm, fresh sourdough.

I’ve always loved bread. In fact I used to walk to the local bakery by my grandparent’s house to get a loaf for my nana. I’d pop off the end of the loaf, eat the insides and pop the end back on. My nana soon learned to give me enough money to buy two loaves of bread. Not only does bread smell and taste great, but it brings back happy childhood memories for me. I hope you enjoy the day. – Chef Ro

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Bread, Fun Stuff, National Food Days, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

