Happy National Peeps Day

My friend Adrianne (last name withheld to protect the strange) and her sister both love Peeps, but one likes them “fresh” and the other likes hers stale. I put fresh in quotations because I don’t really think a Peep could ever be considered fresh. Did you know that Peeps contain carnauba wax, the main ingredient in car wax? Holy crap! Learn the nutritional anatomy of a Peep from Shape magazine.

Beep beep goes the Peep.

Beep beep goes the Peep.

But, hey, everyone has their snack foods that they don’t want to live without, no matter what they’re made from. I didn’t realize there is an entire Peeps culture, along the likes of Hello Kitty. You can buy just about anything you want with a Peep on it. Check out the official Peeps web page — because there are tons on unofficial pages — and you’ll find recipes, sweepstakes, art, products and so much more.

Who thinks I like Peeps? Pretty safe bet to guess that I don’t, never been a fan of marshmallows unless they’re home made and fresh. (It seems like I’m posting about a lot of stuff this month that I won’t eat.) Well, for those of you who don’t mind a Peep staying in your stomache for 25 years…come on! I’m sure someone’s mom said that at some time…enjoy your special time of year. – Chef Ro

About Chef Ro

I am executive chef of Barcellona Bites, a boutique catering and personal chef service in Folsom, CA. I am also a wife, mom of two college-aged daughters in the Pacific Northwest, yogi and animal lover. Please LIKE my facebook page for tasty recipes, helpful information and kitchen, cooking and lifestyle tips. www.facebook.com/barcellonabites
This entry was posted in Fun, Fun Stuff, National Food Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

